The Yuppie Flu

It’s day 6 of NaBloPoMo and NHBPM! Interesting prompt today from Wego Health, I’ve really been enjoying reading everyone’s responses!

Daily Prompt:

Say WHAT?!
What’s the most ridiculous thing you’ve heard about your health condition? Was there any context? What did you think at the time you heard it – and what do you think of it now?

I think most people with CFS have faced general confusion and such ‘helpful’ tips as why don’t you get some fresh air? However, the most ridiculous thing I have heard was not something said directly to me, but learning that CFS used to be referred to as the ‘Yuppie Flu’. I was taken aback when I first heard it, but after thinking about it for a few minutes, it was not so surprising.

I’m very inspired by the hard work being done (and that has been done) to raise awareness about CFS and other invisible illnesses. Most people that I now speak to about CFS are sympathetic, supportive, and interested to learn more about what CFS is and how they can help me. Unfortunately, there will always be less understanding people, but the fact that we have come so far in creating a culture of understanding over the last 10 or 15 years is wonderful!

While there is still a lot of work to be done to raise awareness about invisible illness, we have come a long way.

What is the most ridiculous thing you’ve heard or read about CFS or your illness?

7 thoughts on “The Yuppie Flu

  1. A lot of my friends still seem to think that I can just get over this by exercising more and pushing through it. I keep having to explain that this just makes me 10 times worse for a very long period of time.

    • I think it is hard for people to understand the difference between ‘being really tired’ which a breath of fresh air may help with, and being immobile from fatigue where even short movements can make things worse.

      We’ve probably all experienced both kinds so we ‘know’ the difference, but it is difficult to explain and difficult for others to imagine.

      Hopefully they will learn to ask you what YOU need for support, rather than trying to push their own beliefs on you (from a very wonderful and thoughtful place, I am sure). It’s definitely very frustrating so I feel ya!

  2. The most bizarre suggestion I’ve heard, to date, was from my brother who said he would take me on ‘the big one’ (a theme park ride at Blackpool) and ‘snap me out of it’ — nice 😉

Leave a Reply

