The Lonely Goblin

There is no time like Halloween for feeling home sick. It’s when us naive Canadians (and Americans, I assume) realize that Halloween is not the anticipated, drink and chocolate filled event of our homeland to the rest of the world. One could spend weeks thinking of the best costume idea she ever had only to not have a single party to attend. Part of me is relieved, it has been a stressful couple months, combined with just getting over a cold and having a busy few weeks ahead; I should really be taking some time to rest and get back into my yoga practice. But the other part of me is still searching for a laid back halloween party to strut my punny costume at.

Over the years I have become adept at creating ‘easy’ costumes. Perhaps it is because of CFS, perhaps it is because I am not the most creatively inclined, or don’t want to spend much on a costume. Or perhaps I am just downright lazy when it comes to Halloween (despite my love of a good costume party). Yet I have always managed to impress with my silly costume ideas. I won’t share this years just yet as I still have hopes of using it and don’t want to ruin the surprise. But, I will share a few of my previous years costumes to provide some inspiration for anyone who feels a little spark tonight to go out and enjoy the holiday!

1. Blackmail 

I did not look this good doing it

I did not look this good doing it

2. Zombie Celebrity or Historical Figure

Find a celeb you kind of look like, throw on too much eyeliner and some fake blood and hit the streets!

Find a celeb you kind of look like, throw on too much eyeliner and some fake blood and hit the streets!

3. The Freudian Slip 

Puns never fail me

Puns never fail me

4. Hipster 

Everyone hates hipsters. Also, everyone has weird old clothes lying around somewhere in their house. Easy and fun! Even hipsters can appreciate it

Everyone hates hipsters. Also, everyone has weird old clothes lying around somewhere in their house. Easy and fun! Even hipsters can appreciate it

Are you going out for Halloween? Are you a lazy costumer like me? Do you have any suggestions for easy costume ideas?

Happy Halloween!

2 thoughts on “The Lonely Goblin

Leave a Reply

