Welcome: Initial Musings

Welcome to The Better Way; a blog about living with CFS (also known as M.E). I have made some pretty drastic changes in my life over the 11 years since my diagnosis, experiencing hopeful highs and draining lows. While CFS has certainly made my life extremely different than what I had imagined, I have learnt the joys of listening to my body, following my heart, and creating an unconventional lifestyle where I can thrive, not despite of, but because of my CFS.

Over the past three of four years I’ve done things that had seemed unattainable most of my life. I’ve run small businesses, learnt new languages, traveled around the world, completed triathlons, learned to be an extrovert, harnessed the power of introversion, read way too many books, planted a garden, and countless other active activities that have brought me hope and happiness.

Over the next few months, I plan to write about how CFS allowed me to accomplish my goals, and how i am moving forward with my life with CFS as my partner rather than enemy. I’m moving to a new, very big, city with a new boyfriend and a new job, so my coping mechanisms will really be put to the test over the next few months.

I hope you will follow along this journey with me, and leave comments if you have any anecdotes, advice, questions, or interesting thoughts you would like to share!

Leave a Reply

